Weekend in the Garden

What a great weekend we had for time in the garden. My first task was to put up another chicken fence. The girls have had the run of that area and I know from experience that they will eat just about anything they can. We use a combination of cattle panels from our local farm supply and inexpensive bird netting. Then, I topped it off with some bird “scare” tape.

These type of panels are relatively inexpensive, are easy to cut into shorter sections, or even bend for some great effects. This is my new rounded gate.

As usual, I’m later than most at getting in my peas, but I prepared my bed and planted a variety new to me called Sugar Sprint. I also starting digging out one of my raised beds for the potatoes. It’s a good idea to rotate beds for potatoes to avoid the various issues that potatoes are known to have. Every gardener has their own tried and true methods for growing potatoes–the raised beds have been working for me. I dig them out deeply, at least a foot deep.

I’ve been planting only German Butterball potatoes for the last few years and my yields have varied. Basically, when I pay more attention to them by hilling them up properly and watering sufficiently, I get better yields. Potato salad, roasted potatoes, scalloped potatoes–you name it–this variety has been good every way I’ve prepared it. This spring, I’m also planting the classic, Yukon Gold. My chitted potatoes will probably go in the ground in a week or two. There’s a common belief in the gardening world that planting potatoes around St. Paddy’s Day, or even earlier, is a good time no matter where you live.

Leave a Reply

